Skip to content

feed readers

March 27, 2008

In preparation for my upcoming move, I’ve been working hard on consolidating my webby life into easy-to-use online services. The biggest struggle for me has been deciding on a feed reader. I like the simplicity of Google Reader, but… it just feels like there’s something…. lacking. I had used Bloglines in the past, but again there just seemed that there should be something more. I think I was wanting an online reader that felt more like an offline application. Enter Bloglines Beta. Tony Morgan mentioned in a recent post so I thought I’d give Bloglines another shot (plus I’m always a sucker for betas).

I like it!

I’m still in the honeymoon phase with it of course, and I don’t really have anything concrete to say other than it “feels” like they got it right. He also mentioned something about Feedburner not working right lately, so I suppose I’ll be taking the Feedburner chicklet down too (I had just put it up, so last I checked, no one had subscribed through it).

My question is, what feed reader do you use and why? I’m still open to jumping camps if there’s one that proves to be better.

*update on gOS* It’s not at all what I expected it to be, but I really do like the OS, so I’ll be leaving it on my linux pc for a while. I’ll review when I’ve had some more quality time with it. And while Joel told me that the Wal-Mart cheapy PCs got pulled, all I can find on it is that the first 10,000 sold out, and apparently had good reviews. I’ll do some more research.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2008 3:56 pm

    I use google because it is simple and i have no clue how anything works. It is all way over my head. I was impressed I could figure this one out.

  2. March 27, 2008 4:50 pm

    I used Google’s (IGoogle) homepage. I like the ability to add everything I want, and lay it out the way I like it. Stocks, news, Gmail, Blog posts, etc.
    Plus, I can add multiple tabs with different content if I’d like.

  3. March 28, 2008 12:20 pm

    So, how stupid are you if you don’t know what you use? Don’t answer that. I just read Sarah’s comment above – I love her answer – simple.

    I go to a blog, like I did yours, I clicked on that little orange icon at the top right of the page, I always click on RSS 2.0 if they offer both because it seems like it should be better than 1.0, and I don’t get what Atom is but I click on it if it’s all they have and poof! I get another window that pops open and it tells me to “click here” if I want to subscribe to this feed. So, I do. Then when I want to reed my feeds, I open IE (aren’t I cooool that I’ve figured out that my explorer window has an acronym of IE?), click on the favorite star on the top left and then click on the feeds. It works. What am I using? I don’t know, but I know it’s not Bloglines. Mark W tried to convince me to use Bloglines a long time ago, but my brain said, “Stupid. (not that Mark is stupid – love Mark!) Why do I want another user id and password and why do I want to have to go to a site to see other sites?” With this way, I feel so smart, but then so stupid when I don’t know what I’m using. Do you guys have to all talk about this stuff?

Leave a Reply

