Skip to content

have I spammed you yet?

April 2, 2008

*disclaimer* I’m not getting paid even one cent (or being reimbursed or rewarded in any way) for this post.

Maybe it’s because we’ve been talking at church about how we want the love of Jesus to go viral. Maybe I’m just a big geek and I love it when technology works like I want it to. I’ve been taking every opportunity to tell people about this for two days. Kyle‘s been trying to tell me about it for months, and I just never bothered to try it out. I finally tried it on Monday. It’s amazing.

What is it?

It’s Digsby. It’s a chat client that handles all the popular services (AIM, Yahoo, MSN, Google Talk, ICQ, and Jabber). Then you can sign into your gmail (or Yahoo, Hotmail, any POP or IMAP, or AOL mail). Then you sign into Facebook, Myspace, and twitter. Everything stays nice and neat in your chat window. When you get a new email, wall post, tweet, etc., you get a nice little pop-up in the corner. If you’re chatting with someone, but the chat window isn’t in focus, the corner pop-up has a place for you to reply, without having to bring the chat window to the front. If you set up your accounts on one computer, pick the skin you want on the client and chat windows, and generally customize it the way you want it, you can sign into digsby on any computer and all your settings will be how you last set them. Have I mentioned that it’s got a very nice interface?

That meager description doesn’t even do it justice. If you’re still reading at this point, just go try it for yourself. Oh, mac users, you’ll have to wait a while, it’s Windows only for now, but they claim Mac and Linux versions are coming soon. Also, if you’re a geek like me, you’ll appreciate the updates being posted at the Digsby blog. Also, as a warning, if you’ve got plenty of friends on Facebook, you’ll probably want to severely limit what Digsby is notifying you of (I just have messages, wall posts, and friend requests). If you’re for some reason worried about security, read this.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2008 5:42 pm

    I just installed it. This had better be better than anything I have ever used or seen before in my life. You have talked it up so much I am expecting it to fold my laundry and pick my stocks for me. šŸ™‚

  2. April 2, 2008 5:48 pm

    So far so good!

  3. Jeanna permalink
    April 2, 2008 5:51 pm

    Kyle got me hooked on this a few weeks ago – talk about simplifying my life. I love it.

  4. April 2, 2008 10:13 pm

    you said that this had all the popular chat services, I am becoming quite the Skype fan and that feature isn’t included. And it is definitely popular being used across ebay!!! Anyway, not to knock on your party, I am just saying.

  5. April 3, 2008 8:38 am

    I understand what you are saying, but I would like to point out that Skype is not a chat service. It is VOIP service, and you just happen to be able to chat within the program. It’s like having a list of the best sporting goods stores, and someone asking why you didn’t include Target. Sure you can buy sporting goods there, but you’d never refer to Target as a “sporting goods store.”

  6. dana permalink
    April 3, 2008 11:53 am

    I installed it on my laptop (gasp), but had to stop halfway through the setting up because it was Cora’s bedtime. Or supper time. Or something. Anyway… I’ll let you know what I think about it when (if?) I finish setting it up. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

