Skip to content

mateo digs hip-hop?

May 15, 2008

Yes it’s true. Ever since my dad told me about this new music called “rap” when I was but a very young lad, I’ve been a big fan of rap/hip-hop. My first cassette tape was put out by an mc going by the name “Plain White Rapper” (yes, really) and my next couple were by the actual father of “Christian rap” or “gospel hip-hop” as some call it, Stephen Wiley.

That’s partially why I found this post by Tony Morgan to be particularly interesting. There’s a decent discussion going on in the comment thread. I’ve been mulling it over all day myself, and when I went to post some thoughts a second time, most of them had been expressed by other readers. I don’t think it’s a question of whether rap/hip-hop is appropriate for a worship service, but rather how to incorporate this unique genre into a worship service in an authentic way so that God can be glorified, and the church won’t be put off by some dudes on stage “trying to be hip-hop.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 15, 2008 12:05 pm

    Our church has done this a few times. We sing a song, with chorus, then our hip-hop guy will rap an original verse. I like it, and the way it sounds. I don’t think people are put off by it. He’s not an angry rapper or anything by any means…so that helps. It’s not aggressive, a little slow, and flows well. It’s cool!

Leave a Reply

