Skip to content

VPN in Ubuntu 9.04 (Jaunty)

February 19, 2009

I really don’t know how applicable this is to all users of Ubuntu 9.04 (Jaunty Jackalope), but it took me a while to figure out the issue, so hopefully it helps somebody.

In Ubuntu 8.10 I had no issues setting up a pptp-vpn connection with Gnome network manager.

  1. sudo apt-get install network-manager-pptp
  2. click network-manager icon in system tray>VPN connections>Configure VPN…
  3. Type in server (vpn.yourcompany.com), Username, and Password.

The first time I tried the same in Jaunty, I kept getting an error that the VPN could not connect.  If folks want more technical details (log file errors, more specific info on our VPN server, network-manager version, etc.) I can provide them.

The main thing you need to know is that I found one additional step fixed the problem.

  1. sudo apt-get install network-manager-pptp
  2. click network-manager icon in system tray>VPN connections>Configure VPN…
  3. Type in server (vpn.yourcompany.com), Username, and Password.
  4. Click on Advanced…>checkmark “Use point-to-point encryption (MPPE)”
8 Comments leave one →
  1. spascho permalink
    February 28, 2009 8:29 am

    nice and useful article,it’s very useful for those who use proxy and vpn

  2. anirudha permalink
    September 29, 2009 3:36 am

    nice work… havent tried it on my machine yet..

  3. October 13, 2009 3:02 pm

    guys

    i need help to connect my ubuntu to the school internet. i think it is a vpn. i am not a tech person and all the forums i have been so far are really daunting. pls if anyone can help me i would be gratefull.

    cheers

  4. November 7, 2009 5:37 pm

    Great post! Just thought I let you know there’s one more thing one might need to do to get the VPN connection to work.

    After checkmarking “Use point-to-point encryption” on the Advance settings I still couldn’t connect to my workplace’s VPN.

    When tailing my /var/log/messages I saw the following entry:
    “EAP: unknown authentication type 13; Naking”

    To fix this I had to uncheck the “EAP” auth method in the authentication methods list in Advanced settings first.

    For more details: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/network-manager-pptp/+bug /301593)

  5. Seamus permalink
    November 26, 2009 10:00 am

    Great post! That “one additional step” is what was killing me! 🙂 thanks!

  6. November 26, 2009 11:17 am

    Thanks for the post, and to comment #4, mk, you just got rid of this bad headache I was starting to get… thanks!!

  7. Vamshi permalink
    February 19, 2010 4:11 pm

    Thanks a lot. I have been trying with open vpn and others…did not have luck.

    It helped me a lot that i can do next deployment from home at 1.30 AM EST 🙂

  8. Phil permalink
    November 18, 2014 6:23 pm

    For future readers:

    Ubuntu 14.10 here – I needed to further select “128-bit (most secure)” from the “Security” dropdown. The default of “All Available” did not work for me.

Leave a Reply

