Skip to content

I Love the Internets

April 28, 2009

For a while now I’ve been dual-booting Windows 7 and whatever flavor of Linux I’m currently interested in.  I feel like I’ve really settled in with the release of Ubuntu 9.04 and I wondered if there was a way for me to easily get into my current Windows installation without having to reboot my computer (a la parallels).  Well, a quick google on the internets turned up a very helpful article which stepped me through creating a virtual disk which was really my physical hard drive, and the rest is just standard stuff.

I booted my virtual/physical disk, was very careful to only select the Windows installation from GRUB (see warning in article), and Windows came up like a champ.  I didn’t even have to do the extra steps outlined at the end of the article, but I may go back and do them as a safeguard…  hopefully not borking my install in the process.  The good news for everyone is that VirtualBox is free/open and available for all three major platforms.  Look out, parallels…

windows7vbox

Beautiful, isn’t it? I’ll be able to work much more quickly and efficiently now, and that’s what computers are all about, right?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. matt permalink
    April 29, 2009 9:15 am

    Anthony told me he couldn’t comment on my post, so I’m giving it a try…

  2. Anthony permalink
    April 29, 2009 9:29 am

    It only works in Internet Explorer. When I try to type in Chrome or Firefox, I don’t get a cursor in any of the text boxes.

  3. matt permalink
    April 29, 2009 9:31 am

    odd, I would guess a rogue extension is to blame…
    I’m using Firefox (in Ubuntu) right now…

Leave a Reply

