Skip to content

NumLock broken in Ubuntu

November 24, 2009

I recently had the very unpleasant experience of not being able to use my number keypad on the side of my keyboard, whether NumLock was turned on or off.  I’m currently running Ubuntu 9.10 and apparently I’m not the only one who ran into this problem.  I found the fix buried in a forum from a user called bluefrog.

Ctrl + Shift + NumLock

That’s all it took, and I was back in business.  I’m not entirely sure how I fat-fingered that in the first place to disable the keypad, but I’m sure glad to have it back.  Thanks, bluefrog!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kat permalink
    January 22, 2010 4:16 am

    Thanks!!!!

  2. liz permalink
    April 28, 2010 4:32 pm

    Thanks so much, I had the same problem and couldn’t find the answer anywhere!! Now that I think of it, the num keys only went on the fritz after a particularly vigorous dusting of the keyboard. Cleanliness is next to numberlessness :-0. Many thanks again!

  3. Gareth C permalink
    May 8, 2010 9:59 pm

    Thanks for this tip, been bugging me for last 30mins why it would not work.

  4. May 13, 2010 1:10 am

    Thank you very much,
    I just solve my Problem.

  5. Connor permalink
    July 20, 2010 8:00 am

    Thank you!

  6. Enrico permalink
    December 29, 2010 5:10 am

    Thanks a lot! I had the same problem!

  7. John permalink
    February 2, 2011 9:56 pm

    Thanks for the tip. It worked for me.

Leave a Reply

